Life in California is ok. It has its good sides and bad sides. Its almost impossible to own a gun here, the government taxes the hell out of everything and property taxes are astronomical. But there is a lot of good things about California, especially the Central Valley. The weather is nice here most times, with rain in the winter, mild springs, and hot summers.
But one of the greatest things is the Mexican food. Because of the close proximity to Mexico, and the US government not giving two shits about illegal immigration, there is alot of Mexican food in California. There's a place that just opened near my house that is amazing. They hand make all of their tortillas in front of you. Fire grilled carne asada, chicken breast and al pastor. Delicious homemade rice and beans. Fresh pico de gallo. The burritos are huge and well packed. All for $5.49. Each burrito is an easy two meals.
There is also a downside to the heavy influx of Mexican food. Sometimes you catch a place where the food smells great, but no matter what you get the runs. Yet some idiots don't care about the trots, and continue to eat there because it tastes good. I shake my head at those people. No food is that good. I lucked out that my place that I like didn't give me the shits the first day I tried it. It's kind of like getting lucky in craps. Sometimes you win, some times you crap out. Kind of like shitty Mexican food :D
Tuesday, June 14, 2011
Dr Pepper
On the 8th day God decided that he was thirsty. So he thought, and thought and the only thing that came to mind was the word "delicious." And lo and behold, Dr. Pepper was born. Dr. Pepper is easily one of the things I like the most. When those 23 flavors hit my tongue in an epic maelstrom of awesomeness, my soul cries a little.
Mmm... *goes to the fridge*
-Bacon
Mmm... *goes to the fridge*
-Bacon
Monday, June 13, 2011
Samsung Droid Charge
My old Motorola Droid fell to the ground from the nightstand a few days ago. I loved that phone, until the display quit working. So I headed over to the local Verizon store with the intentions of purchasing a new phone. I knew I wanted a 4G phone, and the 4G service is coming to my area in a few short months. I had 3 choices. HTC Thunderbolt, Samsung Droid Charge, and LG Revolution.
The HTC felt like a heavy brick in my hand. Its UI was nice to play with, had a nice looking screen, and the camera was good. But it was HEAVY. 8MP Rear Camera was nice, front facing camera was surprisingly good. Low usage time of only 378 minutes.
Then I picked up the LG Revolution. Little bigger, just a little lighter.. Had a 5MP rear camera and the screen quality wasn't as good. It had an HDMI out port on it which I liked. It only has 16GB of pre-installed SD Card space. Had a usage time of 435 minutes. But the dealbreaker for me was that instead of using Google search function by default it was loaded with Microsoft's Bing. I quickly set the phone down.
Then I picked up the Samsung Droid Charge. Instantly much lighter than both of the other phones. It has a 32 GB SD Card. It had a 4.3" screen like the rest of them, except the screen is a Super AMOLED screen. The colors are vibrant. The brightness is incredible. It had an HDMI out port and an on-screen QWERTY keyboard with Swype. Swype is kind of cool. You just drag your finger from letter to letter and it detects your stops and turns and types it out for you. I thought it was cool. But the major selling point was 660 minutes of usage time, which was A LOT more than the other two phones.
Needless to say, I bought the Samsung Droid Charge. I love it. It is lightning fast, and I keep finding new features for it. You can download movies and TV shows with either 4G or Wi-Fi, and they playback in HD. The sound quality is surprisingly good for such a small speaker. The web browsing is fast. I can't wait to go visit the Bay Area so I can take advantage of the super fast LTE 4G, with speeds reported over 20 megabits. That's about 2 megabytes a second download. A normal song is only about 6 megs. Movies around 800 megs.
I'm excited.
-Bacon
The HTC felt like a heavy brick in my hand. Its UI was nice to play with, had a nice looking screen, and the camera was good. But it was HEAVY. 8MP Rear Camera was nice, front facing camera was surprisingly good. Low usage time of only 378 minutes.
Then I picked up the LG Revolution. Little bigger, just a little lighter.. Had a 5MP rear camera and the screen quality wasn't as good. It had an HDMI out port on it which I liked. It only has 16GB of pre-installed SD Card space. Had a usage time of 435 minutes. But the dealbreaker for me was that instead of using Google search function by default it was loaded with Microsoft's Bing. I quickly set the phone down.
Then I picked up the Samsung Droid Charge. Instantly much lighter than both of the other phones. It has a 32 GB SD Card. It had a 4.3" screen like the rest of them, except the screen is a Super AMOLED screen. The colors are vibrant. The brightness is incredible. It had an HDMI out port and an on-screen QWERTY keyboard with Swype. Swype is kind of cool. You just drag your finger from letter to letter and it detects your stops and turns and types it out for you. I thought it was cool. But the major selling point was 660 minutes of usage time, which was A LOT more than the other two phones.
Needless to say, I bought the Samsung Droid Charge. I love it. It is lightning fast, and I keep finding new features for it. You can download movies and TV shows with either 4G or Wi-Fi, and they playback in HD. The sound quality is surprisingly good for such a small speaker. The web browsing is fast. I can't wait to go visit the Bay Area so I can take advantage of the super fast LTE 4G, with speeds reported over 20 megabits. That's about 2 megabytes a second download. A normal song is only about 6 megs. Movies around 800 megs.
I'm excited.
-Bacon
Introduction
I like alot of stuff. I collect stuff, I watch stuff, I play stuff, I play with stuff. And with my love of stuff, I would like to share it with you, the masses. Now this is my first entry into the life of the blog, and I am kind of nervous to say the least. I'm not some English Major with no job, or an aspiring writer of some sort trying to get himself a book deal. I'm just your average farm boy from the country who loves to play video games, work on old cars and tractors, reads comics, goes fishing, and can put his own computer together. Well, not so average I guess. So in this blog I will be posting about stuff I like. I like all kinds of stuff, and if you keep up with it, you'll see some of the Stuff I Like.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)